The Triadic Self

The Nine Enneagram Types represent three dynamics of each of the Three Centres of Intelligence. They reveal the nature of the distortion for each type.

A type that is associated with the Thinking Centre, shows us how that Centre is being misused - by over-activating the Centre, retreating into the Centre, or  just over-thinking something. In the Heart Centre, we see how this centre can be forced, retreated into or blocked off.  In the Belly (Moving-Instinctual ) Centre, we see how the three types either force this Centre, block off the energy, or repress it. (fig 6)

The Three Enneagram Types of the Instinctive Triad  are the 8, 9 & 1

They are concerned with: Resistance & Control of the Environment.
Have issues with
Aggression and Repression.
Autonomy - based on physical tensions.
Underlying feeling:

Real Quality of the Moving Centre:  Groundedness , Strength and Nobility

Lack of Presence for Belly Centre: Flakiness, Instability and Self Doubt

The Three Enneagram Types in the Heart Triad are the 2,3 & 4

They are concerned with Love of False Self & Self-Image.
Have issues with
Identity & Hostility.
Underlying Feeling:

Real Quality of The Heart Centre: Openness, Value and Depth

Loss of Presence in the Heart Centre: Hardened, Emptiness , Shallow and Inauthentic.

The Three Enneagram Types in the Thinking Triad are the 5,6 & 7

They are concerned with: Strategies & Beliefs.
Have issues with 
Insecurity & Anxiety.
Underlying Feeling:

Real Quality of the Thinking Centre:  Spaciousness, Curiosity, Focus and Awareness

Loss of Presence in the Thinking Centre: Monkey Mind, Second Guessing and Over-thinking

Working with the Centres

Becoming aware and attuned to the real qualities of the three centres, is  essential to bring the value of the Enneagram  to our lives and interpersonal  interactions.  This can take the form of Mindfulness approaches, Meditation or Feldenkrais Awareness Through Movement classes.

further reading:
Wisdom of The Enneagram
by Riso-Hudson pg.49